BRDC awards ceremony london

The leading lights in motorsport have been honoured in the annual British Racing Drivers’ Club after a star-studded ceremony in London.

The ceremony, hosted by Jake Humphrey, outgoing BBC F1 anchorman , saw the likes of Lewis Hamilton, Fernando Alonso, Adrian Newey and Alex Zanardi.

The event was staged at The Grand Connaught Rooms in Central London. It as attended by the Club’s President-in-Chief, HRH The Duke of Kent KG, who presented three trophies at the awards luncheon, while special guest and two-times Olympic Gold medallist Ed Clancy MBE was also on hand to hand out some of the silverware.

The top honour went to Rob Huff, who was awarded the prestigious BRDC Gold Star, for the second year running after winning the 2012 FIAWorld Touring Car Championship.

The Chevrolet driver was crowned World Champion after a dramatic season finale in Macau; where he was forced to retire from the opening race but secured a podium finish in race two that was good enough to see him lift the title.

It was also a good year for British Touring Cars, as Gordon Shedden received the Club’s highest accolade for national racing, the BRDC Silver Star, after securing the title for the first time.

British achievements in Formula 1 were recognised with Lewis Hamilton MBE being awarded ‘The ERA Club Trophy’ and Red Bull Racing’s Adrian Newey OBE collecting ‘The Sir Jackie Stewart Award’ for the fourth year running.

Martin and Alex Brundles’ assault on the 24 Hours of Le Mans was also recognised at the BRDC Awards, after the duo teamed up to pilot the Nissan-powered Greaves Motorsport LMP2 prototype in the legendary race. The father and son team were awarded ‘The Woolf Barnato Trophy’ by Murray Walker.

A full list of winners from the awards can be found by clicking HERE.